Band Camp

fmhs-band-camp

Fort Mill Band maintains its legacy of excellence with a dedicated rehearsal schedule that begins each year with a series of camps as the summer comes to a close. This page will provide information on the various camps, tips for making the camp experience the most beneficial and enjoyable it can be, and directions for getting plugged in with peer groups.

Band Camp

Band Camp is a full week of rehearsal focusing on the music and drill of the fall competition show.  Students begin with warm-up in the morning and work outside until lunch, which is provided in the school commons area.  Afternoon rehearsals are spent indoors with evening practice outside until 9 PM.  It’s hot outside and students need to bring a half-gallon or gallon water thermos and sunscreen.  Hats are allowed outside.  It’s also very important for students to have a good breakfast with plenty of protein.  The week ends with a show presentation for parents at 5 PM on Friday.  

Band camp is required for all students to participate in the field show.

What To Bring To All Outdoor Camps – Helpful Tips

  • Water Thermos (half-gallon or gallon)        
  • Sunscreen
  • Cooling Towel (ex. Frog Tog)
  • Hat
  • Sunglasses
  • Instrument with plenty of reeds and supplies
  • Nutritious snacks
  • Comfortable athletic shoes with support

Make sure to eat a healthy breakfast, get plenty of sleep and drink LOTS of water 3-4 days prior to the start of band camp.

2018 Summer Schedule

Tuesday, July 17 Welcome Back Rehearsal! 5:30 PM – 9:00 PM
Thursday, July 19 Full Band Rehearsal 5:30 PM – 9:00 PM
Tuesday, July 24 Full Band Rehearsal 5:30 PM – 9:00 PM
Thursday, July 26 Full Band Rehearsal 5:30 PM – 9:00 PM
Monday, July 30 Full Band Rehearsal 5:30 PM – 9:00 PM
Tuesday, July 31 Full Band Rehearsal 5:30 PM – 9:00 PM
Thursday, Aug 2 Full Band Rehearsal 5:30 PM – 9:00 PM
Friday, Aug 3 Full Band Pre-Camp Rehearsal 9:00 AM – 12:00 PM
 Monday, Aug 6 Band Camp (Lunch and Dinner provided) 9:00 AM – 9:00 PM
Wednesday, Aug 8 Band Camp (Lunch and Dinner provided) 9:00 AM – 9:00 PM
Thursday, Aug 9 Band Camp (Lunch and Dinner provided)  9:00 AM – 11:00 PM
 Friday, Aug 10 Band Camp (Lunch and Dinner provided) 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
SHOW PRESENTATION 5:00 PM
 Monday, Aug 13 Full Band Rehearsal 6:00 PM – 9:00 PM
Tuesday, Aug 14 Full Band Rehearsal 6:00 PM – 9:00 PM
Thursday, Aug 16 Full Band Rehearsal 6:00 PM – 9:00 PM
Saturday, Aug. 25 Full Band Rehearsal 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM

Once school begins, we will follow our regular schedule:

Mondays before Labor Day 6:30 – 9:30 PM
Mondays after Labor Day 4:00 – 6:30 PM
Tuesdays 6:30 – 9:00 PM
Thursdays 6:30 – 9:00 PM

Students should notify Mr. Pruitt (pruittj@fortmillschools.org) or Mr. Patel (patelh@fortmillschools.org) in advance of any family vacations, camps, mission trips, or other conflicts with summer rehearsals.

• Band Camp is required for all students to be in the field show.